Pioneer Football League Releases 2013 Conference Schedule

Courtesy of Judy Stapleton
Courtesy of Judy Stapleton

CLICK HERE for the entire 2013 Schedule

CLICK HERE for the Pioneer Football League release

MACON, Ga. – On Monday, the Mercer football program moved one step closer to ending its hibernation as the Pioneer Football League (PFL) announced its 12-team conference game schedule for the upcoming 2013 season.


Mercer, in its inaugural year in the league, is set to play an eight-game conference schedule including marquee match-ups with two of this season's PFL tri-champs Drake and San Diego. The Bears will play four PFL contests at home in the newly built Tony and Nancy Moye Family Football and Lacrosse Complex.


Mercer opens its regular season on August 31, 2013 against NAIA Reinhardt and the Bears first Pioneer Football League battle is set for Saturday, September 28 against defending champ, Drake.  


The PFL will release a composite schedule in late July once all league member schedules have been completed. The 2013 PFL schedule is the first with 12 teams, with the addition of Mercer and Stetson joining the league. In spite of the additions, the PFL will retain its single-division format to determine the league champion. Each league member will play eight games within the conference schedule.


The 21st season of PFL play begins when Morehead State visits Jacksonville, Sept. 14. The rest of the league begins the race for the 2013 crown, Sept. 28, when all 12 league members are in action.


The 2013 PFL race leads up to the league's first automatic qualification into the NCAA FCS Championship which begins Nov. 30. 


2013 Pioneer Football League Conference Schedule


Sept. 28         Drake

Oct. 5             at San Diego

Oct. 12           Valparaiso

Oct. 26           at Campbell

Nov. 2            at Davidson

Nov. 9            Jacksonville

Nov. 16          at Marist

Nov. 23          Stetson